General-Knowledge MCQ-Indian History Set-3

1.What was the objective of Vaikom Satyagraha launched in Kerala?

  1.   Remove untouchability.
  2.  Force the temple authorities to appoint non-brahmins as priests.
  3.  Ban the institution of Devadasis for temple service.
  4.  Open the temples for the entry of the lower castes avarnas.

2. Who said “If it was proved to me that it (untouchabality) is an essential part of Hinduism I for one would declare myself an open rebel against Hinduism itself”?

  1. Ambedkar
  2.  M.K. Gandhi
  3. Tilak
  4.  Jyotiba Phule

3. Identify the institution which was turned into Benaras Hindu University by Madan Mohan Malaviy

  1.  Bethane College for women started in 1849 by Ishwar Chandra Vidyasagar.
  2.  Hindu college founded in 1817 by David Hare.
  3.  Vedanta college founded in 1825 by Rammohan Roy.
  4.  Central Hindu school established by Mrs. Annie Besant.

4. The Battle of Chillianwalla was a part of?

  1. Anglo-Maratha Wars
  2. Anglo-Carnatic Wars
  3. Anglo-French Wars
  4. Anglo-Sikh Wars

5. In which year Jahangir issued the charter to East India Company for establishing the trade establishments in India?





6. August 9 1925 is known in the Indian History for which of the following incidences?

  1. Chauri Chaura incidence
  2. Kakori Train Robbery
  3. Jallianwallah Bagh Incidence
  4. The seize of Cawnpore

7. Which of the following is not true of the Cabinet Mission plan ?

  1. It rejected the creation of a separate State of Pakistan.
  2. It recognized India’s right to secede from the Commonwealth.
  3. All members of the Indian Cabinet are to be Indians.
  4. It gave scope to the communal representation

8. The Nehru-Liaqat Pact between India and Pakistan was signed  to solve the problem of:

  1. Minorities
  2. The accession of the Princely States
  3. The Border Issues
  4. Foreign Relations

9. British crown took over the Indian Government to end the rule of East India Company in the year ______.

  1.  1859
  2.  1858
  3.  1860
  4.  1857

10. Rabindranath Tagore was born on

  1.  7th May 1861
  2.  16th May 1866
  3.  7th May 1862
  4.  17th May 1860

11. Who founded the ‘All India Harijan Samaj’ in 1932?

  1.  B R Ambedkar
  2.  Acharya Narendra Dev
  3.  Mahatma Gandhi
  4.  Jagjivan Ram

12. To which personality Gandhiji gave the title “Deen Bandhu”?

  1.  Sri Aurobindo
  2.  CF Andrews
  3.  Vinoba Bhave
  4.  CR Das

13. Which of the following leaders died as a result of Injuries sustained during a protest demonstration against Simon Commission?

  1.  Bal Gangadhar Tilak
  2.  Dadabhai Naoroji
  3.  Goplakrishna Gokhale
  4.  LaIa Lajpat Rai

14. Who gave the slogan ‘Inquilab Zindabad’?

  1.  Bhagat Singh
  2.  Subhash Chandra Bose
  3.  Md Iqbal
  4.  Chandra Shekhar Azad

15. Who said that the exploitative nature of British rule was ‘Bleeding India White’?

  1.  Tilak
  2.  Dadabhai Naoroji
  3.  Hume
  4.  Annie Besant