Rajya Sabha Election for 10 seats to be held in July -August BJP in lead

Rajya Sabha elections will be held on 21 July and 08 August, 2017 to elect ten members of the Rajya Sabha, replacing those who will retire in July and August, 2017. Which included 6 members from West Bengal 3 from Gujarat and 1 from Goa.  Beside these regular vacancy, 6 vacancies arising from unforeseen events may be also filled through By- Elections.

About Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Maximum number of Rajya Sabha is fixed at 250 but current laws provide 245 members, out of which 233 are elected through state legislatures while 12 are nominated by President of India out of eminent personality in various field.

Important Facts about Rajya Sabha

  1. Rajya Sabha members are elected by state legislatures rather than directly through the electorate by single transferable vote method.
  2. It is not  subject to dissolution like Lok Sabha.
  3. Rajya Sabha has equal powers in all areas of legislation with Lok Sabha, except in the area of finance Bill.
  4. Vice-President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
  5. Rajya Sabha held its first sitting on 13 May 1952.
  6. The salary and other benefits for a member of Rajya Sabha are same as for a member of Lok Sabha.
Joint sessions of Parliament are a rarity, and have been convened three times till date in history.

  • 1961: Dowry Prohibition Act, 1958
  • 1978: Banking Services Commission (Repeal) Act, 1977
  • 2002: Prevention of Terrorism Act, 2002
Chairman Mohammad Hamid Ansari, Independent
Deputy Chairman P. J. Kurien, INC
Leader of the House Arun Jaitley, BJP
Leader of the Opposition Ghulam Nabi Azad, INC

Powers and Exceptions

  1. Unlike the Lok Sabha, a member of the Rajya Sabha cannot bring to the house a motion of no confidence against the government.
  2. Rajya Sabha is granted powers that protect the rights of States against the Union.

Rajya Sabha, by a two-thirds super majority can pass a resolution empowering the Government of India to create more All-India Services common to both Union and States, including a judicial service.

You might also like